Royal Philharmonic Orchestra to perform in Guildford

Teo Gheorghiu. Photo: Nathalie Bissig

Teo Gheorghiu. Photo: Nathalie Bissig - Credit: Archant

The internationally acclaimed Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will return to Guildford on Thursday 8 October for an evening of classical favourites, to launch the Guildford International Concert Season 2015/16.

Latham Koenig. Photo: Paul Persky

Latham Koenig. Photo: Paul Persky - Credit: Archant

The concert will open with Mendelssohn’s delightful Midsummer Night’s Dream overture, written by the composer when he was just seventeen years old. This remarkably sophisticated work will be followed by one of the most challenging concertos in the entire piano repertoire – Tchaikovsky’s mighty Piano Concerto No. 1. Tchaikovsky’s Concerto was the first piece of classical music to sell over 1 million copies, and featured in a Monty Python’s Flying Circus sketch with Sviatoslav Richter. This piece will be performed by piano soloist Teo Gheorghiu, one of piano’s brightest young stars.

The second half of the concert will begin with Schubert’s ethereal Symphony No. 8, known as The Unfinished Symphony. The concert will end in rousing style with Grieg’s ever popular Peer Gynt Suite, with its famous crashing finale ‘In the Hall of a Mountain King’.

Leading the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will be Jan Latham Koenig, who visited G Live earlier this year with the Orquesta Filarmónica de México UNAM. In 2014, he was given the Golden Mask Award, the Russian National Award for Performing Arts and National Theatre.

Audience members will be able to learn more about these classical compositions and their composers in a free pre-concert talk which is open to all ticket holders (pre-booking is essential).

This concert marks the start of the fourth annual Guildford International Concert Season at G Live, Guildford’s concert hall. Highlights include the debut visit of soloist Miloš Karadagli? with the Royal Northern Sinfonia (3 Dec), and an opportunity to hear the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra perform in Guildford for the first time (12 Feb). The season also features return visits by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra (7 Nov), European Union Chamber Orchestra (14 Apr) and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (7 May).

Buy tickets for 3 or more concerts at the same time and save 10% off the price of your tickets, plus you’ll pay no booking fees. And, if you book for all 6 concerts you’ll save 20% on your tickets. Call the Ticket Desk on 01483 369350 to book your subscription.

Most Read