Cornwall’s outstanding teachers recognised at awards ceremony


Teaching and learning professionals working in Cornwall's schools and colleges were given the recognition they deserved at the sparkling, first-ever Cornwall Teacher Awards 2016 ceremony.

Held at Truro Cathedral, winners, nominees and guests were treated to an evening of celebration for those who have dedicated their outstanding work to positively impact Cornwall's children and young people.

Helen Mathieson, ex principal at Marine Academy Plymouth and now CEO of the Salisbury Plain Academies hosted the event. She was both entertaining and professional as she kept the pace. The Keynote speaker was Vic Goddard, probably the UK's most famous Headteacher from Channel 4's Educating Essex.

Vic gave an inspiring presentation, with many of the audience reaching for their handkerchiefs.

This year, there were 12 categories of awards, including Outstanding Headteacher, Outstanding use of IT in Education and Outstanding Special Educational Needs Teacher.

To kick off the night a special Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Steve Miller from Pool Academy by West Briton editor, Dave Thomas. The judges said the list of achievements in Steve's field, his areas of expertise and proven abilities over many decades would impress even the most discerning and scrupulous judges. The award was dedicated to the memory of Nichola Southwell, a lecturer from Duchy College who passed away earlier this year.Outstanding Headteacher of the Year sponsored by Schools Week went to Ian Kenworthy from Camborne Science and International Academy. The judges concluded that he has the highest expectations of all his students and indeed of his staff and that both staff and students respond with determination to achieve their goals.The award for Outstanding Teacher of the Year, sponsored by Kernow Education went to Howard Stuttard from Pool Academy. Howard was described as an outstanding teacher who is passionate about developing himself an empowering other staff to develop, too.'The Governor of The Year Award sponsored by the University of Bristol went to Sarah Karkeek from the Newquay Education Trust. Sarah was recognised for using her skills and knowledge to help develop the governance of other institutions as well as her own.Outstanding NQT (newly qualified teacher) of the Year award sponsored by the University of Exeter went to Ryan Conroy from Liskeard School and Community College - Ryan was described as a jewel' by the school's Headteacher.Outstanding Teaching Assistant of the Year category was sponsored by national awarding organisation, NCFE and went to Mark Fuller from Poole Academy. Mark has made an outstanding contribution to improving the opportunities for people with Special Educational Needs.Truro School sponsored the Student Nominated Teacher of The Year and this award went to Lisa McCarthy from Torpoint College. Lisa has inspired her students to be passionate about education, to gain self-confidence and to turn their grades around.The award for Outstanding Use of IT in Education was sponsored by the Cornwall College Group, the award went to Mike Hatton from Pool Academy. Mike has been working on using technology to increase the speed and quality of feedback - the key to improvement.The School Volunteer of the Year award sponsored by EMPRA marketing and PR went to Helen Willis from Sir Robert Geffrey's School in Saltash. - Helen was recognised for her commitment to the children over 12 years.School Support worker of the year sponsored by The University of St Mark and St john went to Jo Andrews from Devoran School - Jo is loved by the children and one parent described Jo as a diamond'.The Outstanding Special Education Needs Teacher of the Year Award was sponsored by Truro & Penwith College, and went to Geraldine Revell from Little Learners Pre School, Gulval. She was recognised for the outstanding impact she has made on the children she has worked with together with her support for parents.The final award, sponsored by Plymouth University was The Outstanding FE Lecturer of The year Award and went to Judy Chobowski from The Cornwall College Group. Judy was applauded for her work with students as well as their families and friends to give them a complete support package - the judges said that Judy is the embodiment of what makes further education great.

The organisers hope that the Cornwall Teacher Awards will be an annual event. Nikki Baron from EMPRA PR and Marketing said: " The Cathedral was filled with such worthy winners - it was an emotional evening.

Most Read

"We've had such fabulous feedback and our twitter feed is full of such lovely comments - I think we've stumbled upon a real winner of an event and I hope it's an event that will be even bigger and better next year."

Comments powered by Disqus