CORNWALL TOURISM AWARDS: SIMPLY THE BEST

095

The glitterati of Cornwall’s tourism industry gathered for the annual Tourism Awards where surprise guest Rory McGrath handed out awards to the 2015 best from restaurants and pubs to businesses boasting eco-credentials and accessibility.

003

Special awards went to Pat Smith from Bosinver Farm Cottages for her outstanding contribution to Cornish tourism and Unsung Hero to Geoffrey Pearce of The Godolphin Arms, Marazion.

Malcolm Bell, Chief Executive of Visit Cornwall, said: “What an incredible achievement for so many deserving tourism businesses. To win a Cornwall Tourism Award takes dedication, hard-work and a 360 degree commitment to excellence across the business. Each and every one of the winning businesses should be proud of their trophies and the vital part they play in Cornwall’s success as a leading visitor destination. It is thanks to businesses such as those recognised by the Cornwall Tourism Awards that Cornwall is synonymous with quality.”

Awards organizer Robin Barker of Services for Tourism adds: “Each year I am stunned by how tourism businesses continue to reinvent themselves and their visitor offering. This year is no exception and I offer huge congratulations to all the winners.”

The 24 award categories cover everything from B&Bs and holiday parks to pubs and activity providers, and for the first year include a new spa and wellbeing category, one for tourism events and another for business and wedding venues. Other Gold winners on the night were Padstow Seafood School, Pebble House B&B, Whalesborough Cottages and The Olde House. Amongst the Attractions, the Screech Owl Sanctuary and Eden Project took Golds, whilst in food and drink categories the top awards went to The Waymarker, The Ship Inn and Trewithen Restaurant.

007

The winner of winners was Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park in Padstow.

cornwalltourismawards.org.uk

Most Read

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Francis Clark

011

Gold: Hell Bay Hotel, Isles of Scilly hellbay.co.uk

Silver: Talland Bay Hotel, Looe tallandbayhotel.co.uk

Bronze: The Alverton Hotel, Truro thealverton.co.uk

Commended: The Godolphin Arms, Marazion godolphinarms.co.uk

015

SELF CATERING

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism

Gold: Treworgey Cottages, Liskeard cornishdreamcottages.co.uk

Silver: Glynn Barton Cottages, Bodmin glynnbarton.co.uk

019

Bronze: Boscrowan Farm, Penzance boscrowan.co.uk

Bronze: Roundhouse Barn Holidays, St Just in Roseland roundhousebarnholidays.co.uk

Commended: The Sea Garden Cottages, Isles of Scilly tresco.co.uk/staying-on-tresco/sea-garden-cottages

RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR

027

Sponsored by Holiday Cornwall

Gold: Trewithen Restaurant, Lostwithiel trewithenrestaurant.com

Silver: The Dining Room restaurant, Rock thediningroomrock.co.uk

Bronze: Paul Ainsworth at Number 6, Padstow number6inpadstow.co.uk

031

SPA & WELLBEING EXPERIENCE

Sponsored by Brewer and Bunney

Gold: The Headland Hotel & Spa, Newquay headlandhotel.co.uk

Silver: The Scarlet Spa, Mawgan Porth scarlethotel.co.uk

036

Bronze: Tresco Leisure Spa, Isles of Scilly tresco.co.uk

OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO CORNISH TOURISM

Sponsored by Visit Cornwall

Pat Smith of Bosinver Farm Cottages bosinver.com

039

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Hotel Perfect

Gold: Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, St Ives carbisbayhotel.co.uk

Silver: The Greenbank Hotel, Falmouth greenbank-hotel.co.uk

042

PUB OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by SBC property

Gold: The Ship Inn, Wadebridge shipinnwadebridge.com

Silver: The Rising Sun, Truro risingsuntruro.co.uk

045

Bronze: The Pandora Inn, Falmouth pandorainn.com

SMALL ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Seymac Distribution

Gold: Screech Owl Sanctuary, St Columb screechowlsanctuary.co.uk

049

Silver: Wheal Martyn, St Austell wheal-martyn.com

Bronze: Penlee House Gallery & Museum, Penzance penleehouse.org.uk

Commended: Trewidden Garden, Penzance trewiddengarden.co.uk

VENUE & BUSINESS TOURISM

053

Sponsored by Christie & Co

Gold: The Headland Hotel & Spa, Newquay headlandhotel.co.uk

Silver: Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate, St Ives carbisbayhotel.co.uk

Bronze: Polhawn Fort, Torpoint polhawnfort.com

057

WILDLIFE FRIENDLY BUSINESS AWARD

Sponsored by Cornwall Environmental Consultants

Gold: Railholiday Ltd, Saltash railholiday.co.uk

Silver: Perran Sands Holiday Park, Perranporth haven.com/perransands

061

Bronze: Forest Holidays - Deerpark, Liskeard forestholidays.co.uk/south-west-england/deerpark-holidays

Bronze Wild Futures Monkey Sanctuary, Looe monkeysanctuary.org

Commended: Trevella Park, Newquay trevella.co.uk

LARGE ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

065

Sponsored by Triodos Bank

Gold: Eden Project, Bodelva edenproject.com

Silver: Trebah Garden, Falmouth trebah-garden.co.uk

Bronze: National Maritime Museum Cornwall, Falmouth nmmc.co.uk

070--1-

INTERNATIONAL VISITOR EXPERIENCE

Sponsored by Great Western Railway

Gold: St Michael's Mount, Marazion stmichaelsmount.co.uk

Silver: Trebah Garden, Falmouth trebah-garden.co.uk

073

HOLIDAY RESORTS & LARGE SELF CATERING

Sponsored by Wolf Rock

Gold: The Olde House, Wadebridge theoldehouse.co.uk

Silver: Whalesborough Cottages, Bude whalesborough.co.uk

076

Bronze: Piran Meadows, White Cross piranmeadows.co.uk

UNSUNG HERO AWARD FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Sponsored by South West Water Business Services

Geoffrey Pearce of The Godolphin Arms, Marazion godolphinarms.co.uk

079

ACCESS &INCLUSIVITY

Sponsored by Purple Cloud Consultancy www.purplecloudconsultancy.co.uk

Gold: Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park, Padstow, www.motheriveysbay.com

Silver: National Maritime Museum Cornwall, Falmouth, www.nmmc.co.uk

083

TOURIST INFORMATION SERVICE

Sponsored by MiHi

Gold: Bodmin Visitor Information Centre, Bodmin bodminlive.com

Silver: Launceston Tourist Information Centre visitlaunceston.co.uk

087

ACTIVE & SPORTING EXPERIENCE

Sponsored by Sue Bradbury PR

Gold: Newquay Activity Centre, Newquay newquayactivitycentre.co.uk

Silver: Ticket To Ride Surf School, Newquay tickettoridesurfschool.co.uk

091

Bronze: Adventure Segway, Mt Edgcumbe adventuresegway.com

Commended: Stithians Lake Outdoor & Active, Redruth outdoorandactive.uk.com

CAFÉ & TEAROOM OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Expowest Cornwall

p1878714925-o181586446-4

Gold: The Waymarker, Falmouth thewaymarker.co.uk

Silver: Boscastle Farm Shop & Café boscastlefarmshop.co.uk

Bronze: Picnic Cornwall Ltd, Falmouth picniccornwall.co.uk

Bronze: Trengwainton Tearooms, Penzance trengwaintontearooms.com

032

HOLIDAY PARK & VILLAGE

Sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors

Gold: Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park, Padstow motheriveysbay.com

Silver: Trevella Park, Newquay trevella.co.uk

027--2-

Bronze: Perran Sands Holiday Park, Perranporth haven.com/perransands

TOURISM EVENT OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Nixon

Gold: Padstow Christmas Festival, Padstow padstowchristmasfestival.co.uk

024

Silver: The Great Cornish Food Festival, Truro greatcornishfood.co.uk

Bronze: Looe Music Festival, Looe looemusic.co.uk

B&B, GUEST ACCOMMODATION & INN OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Nicholson’s

019--1-

Gold: Pebble House, Mevagissey pebblehousecornwall.co.uk

Silver: The Seafood Restaurant, Padstow rickstein.com

Bronze: Roundhouse Barn Holidays, St Just in Roseland roundhousebarnholidays.co.uk

Bronze: Trevose Harbour House, St Ives trevosehouse.co.uk

097

ARTISTIC, CULTURAL & LEARNING EXPERIENCE

Sponsored by The Samphire Club

Gold: Padstow Seafood School, Padstow rickstein.com

Silver: St Ives School of Painting schoolofpainting.co.uk

Bronze: Penlee House Gallery & Museum Penzance penleehouse.org.uk

CAMPING & CARAVANNING PARK

Sponsored by Cornwall Association of Tourist Attractions

Gold: Padstow Touring Park padstowtouringpark.co.uk

Silver: Wooda Farm Holiday Park, Bude wooda.co.uk

Bronze: Trevornick Holiday Park, Holywell Bay trevornick.co.uk

DOG FRIENDLY ACCOMMODATION

Sponsored by Jo Downs Glass Design

Gold: Whalesborough Cottages, Bude whalesborough.co.uk

Silver: Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park, Padstow motheriveysbay.com

SUSTAINABLE TOURISM

Sponsored by Skinner’s Brewery

Gold: Railholiday Ltd, Saltash railholiday.co.uk

Silver: Eden Project, Bodelva edenproject.com

Bronze: The Pandora Inn, Falmouth pandorainn.com

Commended: Bedknobs, Bodmin bedknobs.co.uk

Roundhouse Barn Holidays, St Just in Roseland roundhousebarnholidays.co.uk

WINNER OF WINNERS

Sponsored by St Austell Brewery

Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park, Padstowmotheriveysbay.com